top of page
  • Writer's pictureTracey Hawkins

CBCA Book of the Year Awards 2020 Leaping Lola - A Notable Winner

February 7 was a very exciting day.

I was actually teaching a Children's Writing Course at CIT when the awards were announced that evening and didn't know for hours that my picture book Leaping Lola had been long-listed as a Notable.

It wasn't until a few hours later that I turned on my phone and the messages came flooding in.

OMG Leaping Lola was a Notable???????

I couldn't believe I'd missed this news. It was so exciting!!!

How did I feel having made the Notable list?


I was happy dancing just like Lola :)

A little about the CBCA Awards.

The CBCA promotes the literary experience for children and assures the scope and vitality of Australian children's books. The annual CBCA Book of the Year Awards affirm the quality of some of Australia's most creative people and provide a boost to their capacity to devote time to their craft.

Established with the first awards in 1946, the annual CBCA Book of the Year Awards aim to:

  • promote quality literature for young Australians;

  • support and encourage a wide range of Australian writers and illustrators of children’s books and;

  • celebrate contributions to Australian children’s literature.


There are six categories in the CBCA Book of the Year Awards. 

  • CBCA Book of the Year: Older Readers

  • CBCA Book of the Year: Younger Readers

  • CBCA Book of the Year: Early Childhood

  • CBCA Picture Book of the Year

  • Eve Pownall Award 

  • CBCA Award for New Illustrator (previously the Crichton Award for New Illustrators administered by the CBCA Victorian Branch)

Leaping Lola was entered into the CBCA Book of the Year: Early Childhood category.

Notable books get shiny stickers. How good is that?

Everyone loves a sticker. I sure do.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page